My Beautiful Blog

An Actualiser's weblog

The Love of a Brother

My brother Irwin was special, simply because he was not special. He needed no attention to smile, to work, to live. He wasn’t shy, just satisfied, just contented, just happy to live and do his thing.

This I remember about Irwin.

My earliest memory was him, hard-working… using his skillful hands and quick mind to create beautiful coral jewelery. He was  dedicated to this for some time and he brought lots of friends to the house who would do this work as well; definitely a creative guy and well loved.

But I think I remember him most for his silent ways. He had plenty to say; he observed and processed much. But he had no reason, whatsoever, to be blasting it out. In many ways this was unfortunate, since then he wasn’t noticed; in a world where mainly bluster and bravado get any attention…

But perhaps this is just what showed his richness. He didn’t have to blast at or for anything, nor to be received or to be accepted in order to be himself, and I like that!

But give him a listen and his intelligence flowed out spontaneously; my Brother the Wise One!

Irwin could get along with anyone. He fit the term ‘harmonious‘. He could laugh easily; he could ‘get to God’ in quick time; he understood perfection… and knew that it didn’t come from ‘things’.

I like that as well.

Whenever we met it was very much understood that we were family. The time and distance between meetings, irrespective. It didn’t matter. It doesn’t matter till now. We were at peace in knowing. We were good friends. [Happy smile…]

It is why today I feel sadness but not the tragic loss I may have expected, since my brother remains: in the natural breeze he preferred to live in, and the chuckles I still hear ringing out, and in my memories of his easy hug and smile that aren’t going anywhere very soon…

He has moved on to his Perfect Place and is peaceful now: received as he is… in harmonious ways, like his Nature.

I pray only deeper, undisturbed contentment for my loving Brother who is surely now smiling, restful, happy.

And I pray that you know that Your Sister is with you.

Always,

Sherri.

February 25, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. Such a beautiful tribute to your brother Sherrilene! Harmonious…what a wonderful way to be remembered… 🙂
    I wish I could have met him. I am praying along with you for his peace and contentment, dear friend…
    Much love,
    xo
    Valerie

    Comment by Valerie Holmes | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sherri, this is beautiful. Thank you for sharing this loving tribute to Irwin. I think we all want to be recognized and remembered for our true selves, and you seem to have known and appreciated your dear brother in a way that is very special. That knowing and appreciation will never die.
    Namaste,
    Paula

    Comment by Paula Hayden | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. This is such a beautiful reminder, of the sacred everlasting cycle of Nature’s ways of “balancing” itself.
    Everlasting memories, indeed…Until is is time to meet again.

    Much Love to You Aunty Sherri,

    Comment by Eric | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. First I was shocked. Then I was reluctant to discuss about this with you. Now I give him a big bow and to you too. I feel his silence prove that he was on the path to awakening.

    Comment by shanmugananda | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. Beautiful memories and a wonderful tribute to your dearly loved brother Sherri, sending much love and a gentle hug, with you in spirit as the waves of this poignant time wash gently through you.

    Comment by Gael | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  6. What a lovely collection of thoughts about Irwin. I feel as if I know him, now… this serene soul whose energy is so similar to that of his beautiful sister.

    Comment by Sue Johnson | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. simply beautiful… he sounded like an amazing and wise soul 🙂

    Comment by Empowered Women | February 25, 2010 | Reply

    • A beautiful expression of your love as a sister dear Sherri..
      You describe Irwin in a wonderful and truthful way..he is a free spirit..I pray for you..for Irwin and all those who know and love him..for all your continued peace and blessings..your comfort and may loving words and whispers touch you all now and always guide you onward through this journey ..may deep inner knowing and connection to his sweet presence and joy be with you..Now he has returned to the wonder of all freedom..in love..peace and heartfelt friendship..

      Hugs and love

      Ange..

      Comment by ange | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  8. Sherri,

    Thank you for sharing this lovely tribute to your beloved brother.
    Embracing you in love and lighting him a candle.
    Peace to Irwin.
    Peace to you.
    Peace to all who loved him.

    Lucienne

    Comment by Lucienne | February 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

