My Beautiful Blog

An Actualiser's weblog

Getting ‘Hooked’ on this Simplicity thing

Have you ever wondered if you might have an addiction to complexity? I have [wondered].

Indeed, like many people, my mind has protested the possibility that life could be ‘that simple’, having obviously experienced a great deal of jumping through hoops and over hurdles en route to the time and space I live in now.

In case you didn’t know, I’ve worked in North American  companies for much of my professional life and I’ve lived and done my graduate education in Western European countries all the way, although I remain fundamentally an Island Girl.

I had a spiritual conflict several years ago and it drew me to question what was going wrong with the picture of my work life, that is: a multitude of worker bees, not progressing, and a tiny number of posh, golf coursing patrons handing out tokens to the [fortunate] masses.

This bothered me, I confess, since I sat professionally between the two groups, and I had a very natural desire to serve across interests. It wasn’t meant to be, though and I ‘failed’ to impress my bosses to flex so that policies could be implemented to encourage people to excel and to serve the organisation better and more.

So I got out and have spent the last several years literally out of the system, as a free lance contributor, but mostly as a person trying to access and stick to my Truth.

On the way I found out that there are many people who exercise their freedom of choice by: 1. doing nothing 2. being ‘the victim’ 3. creating hoops and hurdles just for kicks and 4. resisting [violently in some cases] anything that feels like it will dislodge their present position. Not my favourite lessons but I accept them as part of our species.

Thank goodness on the way I also found some genuine people, keen on celebrating life and on being helpful and not requiring a course in human relations to relate. They got it!

I’ve found that that first batch is ‘at home’ in the old dynamics as well, since that has a certain degree of acceptability among the patrons… The other crowd, dispersed as we were working hard to aid the many, are only now peeking out and connecting, and it is sweet!

So, about this title I selected: getting ‘hooked’ on simplicity. I was recently reminded somewhere that we are physically made up of a fine balance of chemicals and that when chemicals increase or decrease in our systems, we react in particular ways. The chemical input is not necessarily ingested or injected. It can be something as simple as adrenaline, from getting the famous Rush of being busy and doing ‘important’ things.

The only thing is, that kind of chemical ‘high’ in your system for a long time, leads to wear and tear on the system and is tied to many stress-related ailments. I have been there as have many people I know, and am thankful that I moved away from corporate life combined with some super stressful homelife issues, at least for that benefit.

But then there are these other chemicals; you know, the good-feeling ones [smile] The ones that erupt in your system from feeling joyful, from laughing out loud, from being lovingly surprised and indeed from feeling love coming at you. Those are good for you! In fact, they aid longevity and good health consistently!

A big motivation for this posting is the reality that many of the people in Category 1 absolutely thrive on thrills and highs from the dramas of their existence. Those thrills etc. create chemicals also, indeed might lead to demand for other drugs to help with the symptons, and more unnatural chemicals might end up in the system… more addictive chems… Other people engaged in the drama might unwittingly get hooked too, just by constantly engaging!

Back to my Truth Mission; I have found that each time I take a leave from the system and concentrate on what feels right, I get this peace. I’ve also found that there are some really simple pasttimes which make me really healthy, and happy. It’s just incredible how easy it is to get to them!

But my addicted mind kept bringing me back to life’s dramas and saying, you just have to manage this complexity…. even if it is wearing you down!

Well I just got the ‘download’ that perhaps I ought to wean myself completely from this complexity addiction of mine and accept that life is ‘that simple’ as long as I go with what feels natural. Even more great is that I get to choose my new kinds of highs.

And guess which one I’m going with!

I’m going with Simplicity! No books, no learnings required, just acceptance that Peace is your Destination. And once you’re there, you are quite ok! Acceptance, however, is the first step as well as that great desire to be happy and healthy…

So, to all the thrills and highs of natural living, of harmonious connection and of life in my Truth! There is no place right now, that I would rather be.

Hope I will see you there too!

Best of everything to you!

Sherrilene

APTOPIX Dandelion Seeds

addicted

July 21, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , | 12 Comments