My Beautiful Blog

An Actualiser's weblog

Investment… what’s this…?

So I finally bought the clock; the chime and strike kind that keeps a girl on track in a gentle way, much much better than any alarm clock could or alert or buzzer etc. Just a pleasant reminder that time’s passing. I’ve wanted it for a long time but hesitated. Now I’ve finally succumbed to my instincts and got it. It is a great reminder of my youth and somehow feels like a ‘Welcome Home’ present that was long past due getting home…

But why the clock? It wasn’t cheap, let me say that firstly. I hardly buy extravagances. I have really no need for ‘things’ right now; it’s crystal clear for me that ‘things’ make clutter. And let’s say I’m a Zen Buddhist monk in training so less and less clutter is where I’m heading, and more and more so daily!

So if I introduce something new into my life, I really want it!

But unconsciously I think I worked out the value and it seems worthwhile to make the investment. I know it’s going to bring me pleasure for many years… Even now each time I hear that chime it feels great… I can’t say why some things pull my pleasure string, but they do! It is an antique of sorts as well; I can’t say what age, but I don’t think they make these guys as a standard anymore. So it has some age on it; it even looks ‘old’, which I don’t mind. I will keep it polished and serviced in its lifetime with me…

I also think it would be a great thing to leave for my kids when that time comes. Not too many more things in my home could I say that for! It should be special and something that brings me a good deal of pleasure and good memories; that’s what I think!

I’m very conscious about what I will send forward to the next stage. It feels important to me; and this, even though I don’t have children! But on recollection of the luck that I had, a person in my youth, who was really conscious of what she passed on, it is just a tribute to that person again, to be aware of how I do things like this also.

I was lucky, because although at the time I felt it was a bit of a drag and uncool, the strict ways my grandmother raised me, have prepared me better for a life of ups and downs than many of my peers and even siblings that were raised with contemporary parents of the modern age. She did things the old way. She taught me about stretching things, about using what was there and making it so great, it would seem like it was intended to be in use in the first place!

She definitely taught me how to take care of things so that they will last a long time and wouldn’t have to be replaced that often. She taught me how to budget and to do with precious little, actually. Then anything on top of that was supplementary, not the main.

This was common sense transplanted, from a time when excess was not an option! And so, those other things that endured rose to the surface as her priorities.

Her lessons kept my focus straight for many years; I never feel embarrassed when cash is short; such is life. Just like I went for years without checking my account because I withdrew so seldom and only for needs and the occasional special treat…!

Like my antique clock. A little treasure that perhaps, along with little wisdoms, I will pass onto the next generation with lots of loving tales of the joys of time passing, with pleasant chimes marking it… just the way I like it!

God bless the elders and the ancients. And bless the next generation with the best we have to give.

Care,

Sherrilene

S_341

July 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

